Rainy Day Adventures…

On a rainy Tuesday, I set my sights on finally completing my grocery list. Back home, I had both a Trader Joe’s and a Whole Foods within ten minutes of my house. Luckily for me, there is a Whole Foods and a Trader Joe’s within walking distance of the Foggy Bottom/ GWU Metro Station. I started off at Trader Joe’s, where I immediately got in the zone. I was in my natural element, looking at samples, comparing milk and looking at the incredible frozen food section. A pro of TJ’s is that they have a lot of prepared food options for vegans (Aka DF). After loading up my cart with comfort foods for the rainy week I will be spending inside, I walked a few blocks over to Whole Foods. It was nice! In fact, it felt just like home. While both of these grocer’s were a bit smaller than the ones by me, they still had a large variety of foods for people who are DF. Whole Foods had a lot of great fresh foods, as well as a wider variety of vegan, gluten-free and dairy-free options.  However, price-wise, this hungry freshman will probably be sticking to TJ’s, since I get more bang for my buck, and I regrettably don’t have enough space for the things I would want from Whole Foods.

Here’s a link to their websites!

http://www.traderjoes.com/

http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/

Leave a Reply

