Trader Joe’s Milk Alternative Haul!

There are certain dairy products that it can be hard to live without… Milk being one of them. Whether you want it in your coffee, or just with dinner, milk is a staple that is in almost every house. So I went to Trader Joe’s and tried out some of my DF options.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Trader Joe’s Soymilk- Organic Vanilla

Based on personal preference, as well as a large aversion to unsweetened nondairy drinks, I chose to get the organic vanilla flavored milk. It’s pretty inexpensive, which is a plus considering anything I buy outside of my food plan better be cheap and taste good. This one does the trick. Which goes to show that TJ’s is the best place ever and I would live there if I could.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Trader Joe’s Coconut Beverage- Vanilla

Something that immediately caught my eye in the store was the nutritional value of this drink. Filled with Calcium and Vitamins A, D, and B12, this drink is great for anyone who needs a quick vitamin fix. I’m not too keen on how high this product is on saturated fats, however overall taste it wasn’t bad and I’d probably drink it again.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Trader Joe’s Almond Beverage – Original

Out of all the almond milk cartons I have tried, this is definitely at the top of my list. For an unsweetened drink, it is pretty similar to milk, at least with consistency. It’s perfect for dipping cookies and cereal. I don’t feel like it’s thick enough to put in my coffee, but I could see how it could work well with someone who drinks their coffee with a little bit of milk. While I probably wouldn’t buy a whole carton of this to keep in my dorm again, I’ll probably beg my mom to get it for me for winter break!

Check out these links!

http://www.eatingwell.com/healthy_cooking/healthy_cooking_101/shopping_cooking_guides/a_buyer_s_guide_to_milk_part_ii?slide=2

http://www.seriouseats.com/2009/08/milk-taste-tests-soy-almond-rice-oat-goats-hemp.html

Leave a Reply

